getting the tones - Reisverslag uit Chengdu, China van Donata - WaarBenJij.nu getting the tones - Reisverslag uit Chengdu, China van Donata - WaarBenJij.nu

getting the tones

Door: webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Donata

30 Juni 2008 | China, Chengdu

I try to learn a new word every week, emphasis on try... learning Chinese is not an easy task. There are so many tones. The word for stop I learned quite quickly after arriving seeing as taxis not always know where they are going. But then I found out that the same word for "stop" also means, "listen" just in a slightly different tone. I now do believe that all westerners are tone deaf and its almost impossible for a native Chinese to speak English properly. But I keep trying and the bear workers appreciate it. So far I know the words for ... yes.. "stop", "listen" (still cant keep them apart), "foreigner"(useful to know when someone is talking about you, even though you never know what they are saying so making it only more frustrating you don’t speak the language) "hello", "how are you" "black bear" (off coarse.. this was crucial to learn to be able to get home from the city) "80 yuan" (also crucial to know as this is our going price for taxi's taking us home from town) "good job" (very useful to keep your bear workers smiling) "happy weekend" or actually weekend happy. No wonder they have so many odd translations into English. "not a problem" (also a very nice one to know, even though all the bear workers can say "no problem" in perfect English.) "I am cold" not to be used until very much later in the year but I have forgotten to say, "I am hot", learned on the same night and would be so much more useful at the present. "small" or "little" also have forgotten which one of the two I keep saying and "beer" that’s just because one of the cats here has that name. And then there are all the words and sentences I have learned and repeated to myself a hundred times over and just within 2 minutes completely forgotten!! I am ashamed to say that I still don’t know my numbers, but that is mainly because all the bear workers know their numbers in English. But to make up for it I have learned, purely by accident I must add, the word for "breasts"!!! As I was trying to explain to the bear workers via my translator that it would be me calling in a certain bear, she got slightly confused and asked again and I am saying "no, no it will be me.. me, me..." She started giggling and so I found out that mimi thus means 'breasts'. Another word is learned… so many more to go….!

  • 01 Juli 2008 - 08:09

    Irmen Werkhoven:

    1 = ie (1e toon)
    2 = ar (4e toon, dus kort; alsof je boos bent)
    3 = san (1e)
    4 = si (4e)
    5 = woe (3e)

    Lees met plezier je verslagen en herken wel het één en ander van mijn half jaar in Xiamen in 2000. Yi, er, san zit er nog bij mij in vanwege de studenten die elke ochtend om zes uur onder mijn raam marcherend voorbij kwamen lopen. Veel succes, blijf schrijven en volgende keer doen we nr's 6 t/m 10 ;-);-) :-)

  • 01 Juli 2008 - 14:52

    Donata:

    Almost forgot the word I use the most: "thank you"! And realised there are even more words I know, like: "cat" and "no" the one more useful than the other...

  • 02 Juli 2008 - 12:11

    Rob Francis:

    Hi Donata

    Enjoying my birthday on my own in Nelspruit. Could do with a nice big hug, but almost as good to hear that you are having a good time. Had a good last course, saved a baby rhino the month before, and seen several leopards over the past few months, so getting better. Karen still battling to settle in the bush, so will have to see if things improve, they can't get much worse at the moment.

    Hugs
    Rob

  • 02 Juli 2008 - 14:08

    Shalana:

    Hoi Donata,
    Echt super daar zeg, als ik het allemaal zo lees en zie!! Geweldig!
    Hier ook alles prima!! "Bere" goed zelfs ;)
    Zo zie je nog eens wat van de wereld, als je bij KLM vliegt! Echt geweldig! Volgende week hele week Kualalumpur en over 2 weken 7 dagen in Johannesburg! Echt zo zuper vet! hahaha :D
    Nou we spreken elkaar weer snel vie deze weg of de mail. Met je huisje, hofje, spulletjes is alles prima!! Ik geniet ervan!
    Dikke kus Shalana

  • 11 Augustus 2008 - 08:37

    Those Who Love You:

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you dear Donata, happy birthday to you. Hip, hip, hurray, hip, hip, harray, hip, hip, hurray.

  • 11 Augustus 2008 - 08:38

    Those Who Love You:

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you dear Donata, happy birthday to you. Hip, hip, hurray, hip, hip, harray, hip, hip, hurray.

  • 11 Augustus 2008 - 18:16

    Ruben:

    gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag AuntyD.

    Liefs,

    Ruben

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Donata

I have moved on...!! Again.....

Actief sinds 14 Maart 2008
Verslag gelezen: 383
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14379

Voorgaande reizen:

15 April 2008 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: