never ending... - Reisverslag uit Chengdu, China van Donata - WaarBenJij.nu never ending... - Reisverslag uit Chengdu, China van Donata - WaarBenJij.nu

never ending...

Door: webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Donata

31 Augustus 2008 | China, Chengdu

Experienced my very first birthday in China!! Certainly one I will not easily forget… good and bad.
Because my birthday was on a Monday we started the celebrations already the weekend before. Went out on the town on Friday night, which always includes the place to be nowadays “Paname” a French bar where most of the non-locals hang out.
Saturday we had a lovely dinner at a very nice restaurant with good company, it almost made me forget I was in China. Was it not for the Chinese staff that still cant figure out that we would all like to eat at the same time instead of one after the other. After dinner we headed off for a farewell party at a Chinese bar. I have to say these Chinese people certainly know what they are doing. I had an absolutely fantastic time in that bar. Good music, great people, fantastic atmosphere but dodgy toilets… mirrors on the ceiling??? What’s that all about!!
Monday itself was not really a very good day. I did get congrats from the bear workers which made me smile and my lovely colleague announced my birthday in the Monday meeting… thanks Nic!
The bad part of the day was that 2 lovely bears had to be euthanised. One was of the group that came in at the end of March and the other was from one of my bear houses. Christmas was his name, and that really hit home… I did a fair bit of crying that day. Never realised that it would affect me this much. I said my goodbyes and held his paw tightly when the deadly dose was given. At the post mortem it was discovered that he had a big tumour around his asophycus, which explained all the vomiting he had been doing. The poor fellow was in a lot of pain and never showed it. We buried both brave boys the next day and I read the poem of hope and courage.
The same evening the girls had organised a little party and had presents and chocolate pudding for one, with candles! But it had been a very long day so we all turned in early.
When finally Saturday came again we all could do with a brake so it was just as well I had planned the BBQ on that day. Also my Dutch friend Annemarie had come over to cover for my colleague Nic who was due to go on holiday the next few weeks. We had a beautiful evening on the roof with all friends from all corners of the world.
Thinking this was more than enough reminders of my turning another year older… I was mistaken! For apparently at the end of the month there is a little celebration in the canteen for all that had their birthday in that month. So I was summoned to the canteen together with a few other happy birthday boys and girls. We had cake and we all received an AAF key ring.
Tomorrow is the first of the next month… so no more reminders!! Just leaves me to say a big thank you to all the lovely wishes, cards and packages. It means a lot to me to know that even though I am far away in China I am certainly not forgotten.
Bear hugs for everyone….!!!!

  • 01 September 2008 - 05:31

    Shalana:

    He Donata,
    Alsnog gefeliciteerd van je onderhuurtje hoor! Wist het niet!! Ik ben net terug uit Lagos en ga zo lekker slapen!
    So far so good hier in het St Jacobshof. Alles gaat zijn gangetje, je huisje is nog steeds super. Je buurvrouw is verhuisd, ze is zwanger hoorde ik van Floor! Het staat nog leeg en het is vandaag 1 september, dus het zal deze week wel onrustig worden met verbouwen en verhuizen enzo. Ben benieuwd wat ervoor in de plaats komt!!
    Tot horens!
    Groetjes Shalana

  • 04 September 2008 - 06:55

    Gday:

    Not sure what I am doing here on account of my poor dutch. You must have better internet than I do here in Africa. I will write some more once I have this worked out.
    Matt

  • 17 September 2008 - 19:42

    Floor:

    Hoi hoi,
    Een wat latere reactie maar erg leuk om weer te lezen dat je het goed maakt!!! Klinkt allemaal geweldig. Veel succes weer en ik blijf de berichten vanuit (het alweer bijna) herfstachtige Nederland volgen ;-)
    Groetjes Floor

  • 17 November 2008 - 21:19

    Dafne:

    Hoi Doanata,

    Wat heb je op dit moment een fantastische job. Het lijkt me super leuk.
    Maar toch ook wel weer erg ver weg.
    Misschien zien we elkaar weer als je weer in NL bent. Ik woon in Alphen aan de Rijn, dus niet zover van Leiden.
    Veel plezier nog in China!

    Groetjes
    Dafne

  • 17 November 2008 - 21:21

    Dafne:

    Hoi Doanata,

    Wat heb je op dit moment een fantastische job. Het lijkt me super leuk.
    Maar toch ook wel weer erg ver weg.
    Misschien zien we elkaar weer als je weer in NL bent. Ik woon in Alphen aan de Rijn, dus niet zover van Leiden.
    Veel plezier nog in China!

    Groetjes
    Dafne

  • 25 December 2008 - 08:00

    Pa En Ma:

    Lieve Donata.
    Ook al moet je werken met Kerst, toch fijne dagen toegewenst voor jou en je collega's.
    Liefs Pa en Ma.

  • 06 Januari 2009 - 11:42

    Anne Lakin:

    Hey Donata,
    Really good to hear all about your Christmas and New Year in China. You are so lucky to still be away. My new year resolution is to get away more often again this year.
    Happy New Year to you!!
    Regards
    Anne
    x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Donata

I have moved on...!! Again.....

Actief sinds 14 Maart 2008
Verslag gelezen: 404
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14374

Voorgaande reizen:

15 April 2008 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: